Back to All Events

The Hubbard Quartet in San Francisco

  • Center for New Music 55 Taylor Street San Francisco, CA 94102 (map)

The all-female group, Hubbard Quartet, presents a program of all female composers in their first concert tour of the West Coast. In collaboration with curator Emma Logan, the program includes Julie Barwick’s “Shroud” and Vivian Fine’s “Capriccio”, and the West Coast premiere of Devree Lewis’ “Luz de Agosto” and Marilyn Zupnick’s “Oboe Quartet No. 1.”

The Hubbard Quartet is comprised of four dear friends. The ladies met teaching at the Boston University Tanglewood Institute during the summer of 2015, where they were all living together in a New England-style home on Hubbard Street in Lenox, MA. All four instantly bonded both personally and musically, and thus the Hubbard Quartet was born! The members of the Quartet are spread out in cities all across the United States (Boston, Washington D.C,. and San Francisco), but they come together throughout the year to spend time together and make music.

Hubbard Quartet:
Klaudia Szlachta, Violin
Jamie Roberts, Oboe
Laura Manko Sahin, Viola
Hyun Min Lee, Cello