Mirrors (2015)


Mirrors (Cobalt Blue) was written for Marian Yang.

Much of the piece is deeply inspired by Arvo Pärt's Spiegel im Spiegel and, specifically, my interest in his tintinnabuli compositional technique. I wanted to create a piece that was simple harmonically and rhythmically, while at the same time mathematically precise and restricted. The construction is based on the idea of many little "mirrors," and the violin line, which is very reminiscent of Pärt's piece, is in a constant sense of reflection, inversion, and retrograde with the piano accompaniment.

This piece is subtitled "cobalt blue" because, for me, this is a color for being lost in thought.


Violin, Piano


ca. 6 minutes


May 10, 2015*

Graduate Recital, San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Sol Joseph Recital Hall

Marian Yang – violin, Julie Barwick – piano

*Indicates a world premiere